Return to Headlines

2022 Spring Athletic Awards Night held

The final athletic event of the 2021-22 school year on the campus of The Woodstock Academy, the Spring Athletic Awards Night, took place recently at the Loos Center for the Arts.

All-State, Eastern Connecticut Conference All-Stars, honorable mention All-Stars, Scholar-Athlete and Sportsmanship Award winners, record-breakers and Coach’s Award winners were all honored.

In a special category, the softball team finished as the team with the highest grade point average among the spring programs.

Girls Track was second and girls tennis third.

The following is a list of the award winners in each category:


All-State honors

Class L Baseball All-State: Ethan Davis

Class MM Boys track All-State: Keenan LaMontagne

Class MM girls track All-State: Magdalena Myslenski


Eastern Connecticut Conference All-Stars

Girls Lacrosse: Stella Brin

Boys Track: Keenan LaMontagne

Boys Track: Christian Menounos

Girls Track: Juliet Allard

Girls Track: Linsey Arends

Girls Track: Jillian Edwards

Girls Track: Bella Sorrentino

Girls Tennis singles: Adeline Smith

Girls Tennis singles: Jackie Trudeau

Girls Tennis doubles: Ellie Bishop-Klee

Girls Tennis doubles: Logan Reynolds

Girls Tennis doubles: Morgan Bentley

Girls Tennis doubles: Stella Atchinson

Boys Tennis singles: Evan Haskins

Boys Tennis singles: Gabriel Viau

Boys Tennis doubles: Tyler Chamberlin

Boys Tennis doubles: Ari Abrams

Baseball: Ethan Davis

Baseball: Jon Smith

Baseball: Zach Roethlein

Softball: Lexi Thompson

Softball: Jenna Bankowski

Softball: Sarah McArthur

Boys Golf: Kyle Brennan

Girls Golf: Jillian Marcotte


ECC Honorable Mention


Softball: Madison Martinez

Girls Golf: Lily Bottone

Boys Lacrosse: Jonah Libby

Girls Tennis singles: Sydney Schuler

Girls Tennis doubles: Emma Massey

Girls Tennis doubles: Peyton Bentley

Boys Tennis doubles: Cormac Nielsen

Boys Tennis doubles: Kyle Pazienza


ECC Scholar-Athlete Awards


Girls Golf: Jillian Marcotte

Boys Golf: Davis Simpson

Boys Tennis: Jai Abrams

Girls Tennis: Adeline Smith

Girls Track: Leah Castle

Boys Track: Keenan LaMontagne

Girls Lacrosse: Sofia Murray

Boys Lacrosse: William Chambers

Softball: Elizabeth Morgis

Baseball: Zach Roethlein


ECC Sportsmanship Awards


Girls Lacrosse: Claire Anderson

Boys Lacrosse: John Pokorny

Girls Tennis: Morgan Bentley

Boys Tennis: Zhi Joe Zhou

Baseball: Shawn Wallace

Softball: Madison Nichols

Girls Golf: Shannon Cunniff

Boys Golf: Don Sousa

Boys Track: Seamus Lippy

Girls Track: Hailey McDonald


Coach’s Awards:


Boys Lacrosse: Cooper Stewart, Jacob Jurnovoy; JV- Julian Escobar

Girls Lacrosse: Abby Converse, Rori Mackenzie; JV- Georgia Lukachie

Baseball: Hamilton Barnes, Jackson Goetz; JV- Jack Sumner

Softball: Lexi Thompson, Elizabeth Morgis; JV-Madison Bloom

Unified Track: Athlete-Lauren Medeiros; Partner-Mitchell Child

Girls Golf: Lily Bottone, Sophie Gronski; JV-Isabella Siwko

Boys Golf: Kyle Brennan, Curtis LeFebvre; JV-Daniel Pineda Fernandez

Boys Track: Keenan LaMontagne, Ian Hoffman; JV-Thai Le

Girls Track: Linsey Arends, Magdalena Myslenski; JV-Briana Botelho

Boys Tennis: Jai Abrams, Evan Haskins

Girls Tennis: Jackie Trudeau, Logan Reynolds.


Record Breakers


Keenan LaMontagne: The senior threw 175-feet, 8-inches in the discus at the Middletown  Invitational. Eclipsed the Woodstock Academy mark of 169-11 set by Jeff Barrette at the Class MM track championship in 1998.


Ian Hoffman: Broke the 800-meter Woodstock Academy record twice during the season. He finished in 2:00.11 in the Class MM state championship to break the mark set by Woodstock Academy girls track coach Josh Welch (2:00.36). He followed that with a sub-two minute effort at the State Open track championship (1:59.9).