Return to Headlines

Winter Sports Awards Night held at the Loos Center

The end of the Woodstock Academy winter athletic season is usually marked by the Winter Sports Awards Night at the Loos Center for the Arts on South Campus.

This winter’s athletic season will be a little different as a state championship boys hockey game will be the final event.

On Thursday, all of the winter sports teams did gather, however, for the Winter Sports Awards Night with those who earned All-State, Eastern Connecticut Conference, Nutmeg Conference, and Coaches’ Awards being honored.

Those who earned All-State honors included:


Connecticut High School Coaches Association 1st team All-State in gymnastics: Olivia Aleman and Julia Kerr

Connecticut Interscholastic Ski League Honorable Mention All-State: Davis Simpson and Emma Brody



Nutmeg Conference boys hockey All-Stars: Ian Sherman, Donnie Sousa, Noah Sampson, Jacob Jurnovoy, Maxx Corradi, Kaiden Keddy

ECC girls indoor track All-Stars: Juliet Allard (300m); Sydney Lord, Tessa Brown, Olivia Tracy, Julia Coyle (4x800m relay team).

ECC Division I girls basketball All-Star: Eva Monahan

ECC Division II boys basketball All-Star: Brady Ericson


Honorable Mention All-Stars:

ECC Division I girls basketball: Kaylee Saucier

ECC Division II boys basketball: Brandon Nagle

ECC girls indoor track: Julia Coyle (1600m)

ECC boys indoor track: Jared Eaton (shotput); Christian Menounos (1000m and 3200m).


ECC Scholar-Athletes:

Boys Basketball: James D’Alleva-Bochain

Girls Basketball: Lennon Favreau

Cheerleading: Cheyenne Machimer

Boys indoor track: Owen Tracy

Girls Indoor Track: Magdalena Myslenski

Gymnastics: Emma Long


ECC Sportsmanship Award:


Cheerleading: Arianna Garnsey, Avery Kuchy

Boys Indoor Track: Josh Hernandez

Girls Indoor Track: Sophia Quinn

Gymnastics: Olivia Aleman

Boys Basketball: Braiden Saucier

Girls Basketball: Leila MacKinnon


Coaches’ Awards:

Alpine Skiing: Davis Simpson, Lilly Verraneault

Unified Basketball: Athletes-Alyssa Wynkoop, Arianna Fox; Partner – Gabrielle Couture

Cheerleading: Arianna Garnsey, Ella Favreau

Girls Indoor Track: Varsity - Bella Sorrentino, Magdalena Myslenski; JV- Kaydence Foster

Boys Indoor Track: Varsity- Christian Menounos, Jared Eaton; JV – Chandler Folkerts

Gymnastics: Madison Martinez, Olivia Aleman

Girls Basketball: Varsity- Kaylee Saucier, Isabel D’Alleva-Bochain; JV-Abigail Converse; Freshman-Kerrigan Reynolds

Boys Basketball: Varsity-Carter Morissette, Jackson Gallagher; JV-Matt Hernandez; Freshman- William St. John

Girls Hockey: Keynila Hochard, Bryn Miller

Boys Hockey: Varsity: Thomas Blevins, Ian Sherman; JV- Tim Mozzi


In addition, there were several special awards given out.

Senior Jacob Jurnovoy was named the Woodstock Academy recipient of the Hobey Baker Character Award in boys hockey.

Boys hockey head coach Mark Smolak was congratulated on his being named Division II boys hockey Coach of the Year by Connecticut Hockey writers and assistant coach Bob Donahue was given a plaque for his 100th career coaching victory at Woodstock Academy.

Senior Braiden Saucier was also honored for being the recipient of the Walter Camp Football Foundation Inspiration Award recently.