World Language Honor Societies

Posted by:

The Italian, Latin, Chinese, Spanish, and German honor societies consist of students who have maintained excellence in language studies at The Woodstock Academy. Students are inducted annually.

Italian National Honor Society
Eligibility for membership in the Italian National Honor Society is based on three semesters of Italian with a 3.6 grade point average in Italian and 3.0 overall GPA. 
Meetings: Wednesdays as needed at 2:15 p.m. Library Writing Center 
Advisor: Mrs. Monahan mmonahan@woodstockacademy.org 


Latin National Honor Society
Application for membership is open to students who have completed through Latin 2 with an average grade of 90 or higher.

Meetings: Tuesdays at 2:15 p.m. BC10 
Advisor:
Mr. Morehouse amorehouse@woodstockacademy.org 


Chinese (Mandarin) National Honor Society
Application for membership is open to students who have completed through Mandarin 3 with an average grade of B or higher.

Meetings: 2nd Wednesday at 2:30 p.m. Library 
Advisor: Ms. Liaw yliaw@woodstockacademy.org


Spanish National Honor Society
Membership in the Spanish National Honor Society is open to students who have maintained a 90 average or better for three marking periods in Spanish classes (beginning with level two, not including level one) and submit a one page written response to 1) why they want to become a member, and 2) how they plan to contribute to the group.

Meetings: Monday/Tuesday twice monthly, 2:20 p.m. Bates Auditorium 

Tutoring: On each Thursday, the Spanish National Honor Society will offer tutoring from 2:30-3:00 p.m. to any students in Spanish 1-3 that need extra help. Please email your Spanish teacher or Sr. Fox if you want to participate, so you can be added to the day's list.
Advisors:
Mrs. Thibodeau athibodeau@woodstockacademy.org Mrs. Ethier aethier@woodstockacademy.org Mrs.Zolobowski azolobowski@woodstockacademy.org Mr. Fox jfox@woodstockacademy.org 

German National Honor Society
For the German National Honor Society, the requirements for eligibility are three semesters of German with a 3.6 grade point average in German and 3.0 overall GPA. Eligible students must also submit a one-page written response to 1) why they want to become a member, and 2) how they plan to contribute to the group.
Meetings: Third Tuesday of the month from 2:30-3:30 p.m. LC202
Advisor:
 Mr. Musko jmusko@woodstockacademy.org

 

Author: